Look Again

Tonight I spoke with a friend about how persistence is important in prayer and in life.  I thought about Jesus’ story where the widow went before the judge.  I originally concluded that the judge granted the widow’s request because of her persistence and so therefore God will grant our requests when we are persistent.

Out of arrogance, I almost wrote this blog entry without consulting the text.  Yet I am glad I looked again at the text (Luke 18).

The text states that the widow’s request was, “Grant me justice against my adversary.”  Jesus’ commentary after the story reflects how God will bring justice to his chosen ones who cry out.

So what do I with Jesus’ opening comments about how this story is to remind us to persistently pray juxtaposed to his closing comments about how God will bring justice?  I am not sure.  However, I am convicted for my prayers to be more about justice for others and less about me.  

God, give me a heart for those who are treated unjustly.I pray for those who are being trafficked, and I pray for justice for these men, women, boys, and girls.  Lord, forgive me for those times when I have focused my prayers more on myself than those in need.  Thanks for getting my attention and leading down a new direction in my prayer life.  Also, thanks for a fresh perspective from a familiar scripture passage.  Amen.

But let justice roll on like a river, righteousness like a never-failing stream! Amos 5:24

Leave a comment