Much Needed Rest

Yesterday, I did not do anything related to any of my jobs, and at the end of the day, I felt exhausted. My body finally rested, my thoughts slowed down, and my heart took time to break. I cannot go six weeks again without taking a whole day off. The consequences of a rushed life are tough realities. I need to feel when I feel. Delaying processing emotions is not healthy.

Anxiety and depression are unwelcome companions that push me to get stuck in the patterns of my past. In undergrad, I struggled with anxiety and depression. Yes, even though I am a Christian, I had struggles that I did not want to mention at campus ministry Bible studies or mention in a Facebook status.

I hide behind the masks of wanting to be professional and wanting to set a good example, but today someone saw past the masks. I am thankful she took the time to check on me. I hope that more of us will take the time to look past the masks and be responsive to the pain of others. Be courageous, be vulnerable, and be real.

During this joyous time of year, your friend, your neighbor, your coworker, or anyone around you might be grieving, disappointed, or struggling. Open your eyes and see the needs around you!

After a day of rest and a day of worship, my spirits are renewed, my body is more rested, and I look forward to a week full of family, friends, and home cooked meals.

I am reminded of the command “to be still and know that God is God.” (Ps. 46:10) I urge you to take time to be still in God’s presence before you no longer recognize who you are.

Leave a Reply

