“What Your Heart Needs for the Hard Days”

Some days leave you wanting to call in sick, crawl back under the covers, and put online puzzles together all day.  Have you ever had those times when you want to eat loads of chocolate, Dorittos, and Sunni Sky’s ice cream?  Unfortunately, these seasons creep up on me every once in a while.  Usually these depressing days come upon when I get super stressed, and I am overwhelmed.

Thankfully, What Your Heart Needs for the Hard Days arrived at my home right as this season was beginning.  Holley Gerth’s latest books is perfect for your coffee table and for your heart.  The Holy Spirit has used her written words to reawaken the passion within me.  She uses the Psalms as her inspiration for her bite sized devotions of truth, humor, and compassion for women in hard times.  I have been refreshed, and I know that I will return to this book often as a source of wisdom, comfort, and inspiration.

I admire Holley (as much as I have learned about her from her book and the (in)courage blog I feel like we’re on a first name basis).  She shares her vulnerability and pain as an offering to God and to women who ache in response to the brokenness of this life.  Perhaps one day my dream of encouraging others in a similar manner will come true.

At times, I felt she must have been speaking directly to me.  Alicia, “a full schedule and an empty heart is a sure sign that it is time to draw closer to the Shepherd again.” (p. 46)  I feel that our conversation (imagine two friends enjoying fruit smoothies together) would continue as she lovingly asks me the following questions: “What are you holding on to out of fear?  What is not bringing real nourishment in your life?  Where do you need to stop striving and begin trusting again?” (p. 46)  I’ve begun the internal journey of processing these questions with God, and I’m thankful for Holley’s words.

Check out Holley’s Facebook group to join a FREE online book club.  Join Holley, me, and others as we encourage each other in the midst of our journeys!

I did receive a free copy of this book in exchange for writing a blog post about it and an online review.  And I received two blessings: the free book & a new perspective on life!

Leave a Reply

