Disney Really Is Magical

Disney was one of the best experiences of my life.  Adam and I had time to ourselves to relax, at least most of the time.  If you look at some of our pictures, you will see that I was not at all relaxed on many of the roller coasters.

I unplugged 95% of the time from my phone and computer, and I had to learn how to live in a world where I could not process experiences instantaneously by posting a Facebook status update or tweet.  I was alarmed to recognize how much I  rely on technology.  I plan to create times, at least weekly, to unplug from technology enough to relax and recharge for an extended amount of time, even if it is just a few hours.

I was so inspired by learning about Walt Disney and his dreams.  Unfortunately, he failed many times in life, and yet he did not allow these failures to define him or stop him from dreaming.  His innovative thinking challenged me to always keep dreaming and creating.  What would the world of family entertainment be like today if Walt Disney had given up?  I am so glad that we do not have to find out.

One of the best moments was getting to meet Anna and Elsa.  Many people wait in five hour crowds to meet these two princesses.  Yet Adam and I waited less than thirty minutes to meet them once we got inside the park.  We rode the second bus that left from our resort that morning, and then patiently waited and braved the crowds.  Adam even had me ask them, “How does Olaf like summer?”

Wherever you journey to this summer and beyond, I pray that God uses your time away from your ordinary routine to revive you and awaken you more to how much He cares about you.

“The Lord will watch over my coming and going both now and forevermore!”  Psalm 121:8

 

Leave a Reply

