Graduate School Reflections: Part 1

Image

Yesterday was my final day of graduate school, and I am thankful for the opportunities that were given to me at Campbell University Divinity School.  I am so glad to be done with papers, mandatory reading, and exams.  But I am going to really miss my friends, the community, and the constant mentorship and support provided by the faculty and staff.

I am thankful that no assignments are between me and graduation.  I tear up when I think about all the things that could have hindered me from completing my degree, and I cry tears of joy that God was faithful and helped me to persevere.  And I might be tearing up for quite a while as I continue to process my journey, and I am going to give myself the space and permission to decompress.  The past four years have been intense.

I reflect on the fact that I have been a part of four churches, lived in five places, driven two cars, and had one wedding in the past four years.  Moving in the middle of three semesters was not the ideal situation, but God continued to help me complete all of my assignments…most of the them on time.

I do not expect everyone to understand my journey.  However, I hope that my reflections in the upcoming days will allow you the opportunity to reflect upon your own journey.  What seasons of your life have been most meaningful?  What places do you miss?  Who helped you get to where you are today?  How can you help others on their journey?

 

Leave a Reply

