Transitions

Serving God in the midst of transitions can be difficult.  How do you spend your time when you have just a few weeks left at your current place of ministry?  How can you allow God to best prepare you for what comes next?  The joys, tears, hugs, and bittersweet moments of saying goodbye to some and hello to others at around the same time are enough to place you quite the emotional and spiritual roller coaster.

September 22nd will be my last day of serving alongside my First Baptist Church family in Kernersville.  The past year of learning and growing in their midst has been a great formational experience.  I learned more about gardening, hunger insecurity in NC, the liturgical church year, and so many other valuable things.  I served communion for the first time, and I almost caught my robe on fire in the process with the acolyte candle.  I leave FBC knowing that God who called me there is now directing me elsewhere.

On September 23rd I will begin a new journey of ministry at Saint Andrews United Methodist Church in Garner, NC.  On October 26th I will marry Adam, and we will begin a whole new season of our lives together.  The next few months are going to be full of great joyful moments and many bittersweet ones as well.

Yet no matter what I am facing or how I am feeling I continue to see how God has been at work in this transition and within my heart and life.  Not by coincidence, but rather by divine planing, I am in courses at Campbell that put a heavy emphasis on spiritual growth and personal discipleship.  God is growing me in this season of my life to be a better leader so that I can lead others as we journey with Jesus together.

During my upcoming transitions I appreciate your prayers for me and Adam.  Unfortunately, my TMJ has been aggravated, and so I am taking care of myself so hopefully the pain and discomfort will continue to subside.  Adam and I both are in the midst of school and work while planning for our wedding, and we would appreciate your prayers in this area.  Also, I am seeking part time employment to supplement what I will make at the church.  Please pray that God will lead me to the right part time position for this season of my life.

And praise be to God that we do not walk the journey of transitions alone.  I have seen God in the smiles of children and the beauty of the community garden.  I have felt God in the hugs from friends and in the warmth of the sunshine.  I have heard God in the praise songs on the radio and in the voices of children sharing about their Passport camp experience.  I have smelled God in the freshness of the morning and in the kitchen while cookies are baking.  God continues to remind me that He is with me always!

So with God by my side I am going to ride this roller coaster and treasure the adventure!

Leave a Reply

