The Gift of Life

Every day that we are alive is a gift from God.  Some days have not felt like gifts at all.  On some days I have wanted to crawl back in bed, throw the covers over my head, and just browse Facebook and eat Oreos.

Yet yesterday was one of those days that I will remember for as long as God grants me breath.  I was driving, and the next thing I know I am putting on my breaks to avoid hitting the car in front of me.  Unfortunately, something happened and my car drifted into the left lane, back into the original lane, into the right lane, into the entrance lane, toward the bank on the side of the road, and then the car faced the other direction on the shoulder of the road.  I am not sure what happened because I was not on my phone, changing the radio station, or otherwise distracted.  My Paw-Paw Bob suggested that perhaps I hit a place where some oil had spilt.

Anyways in a matter of thirty seconds or less my whole perspective changed.  Three thoughts raced in my mind while all this was happening.  First, you are probably going to hit the bank.  Secondly, if you hit the bank, you will have a very bad day.  Thirdly, I was reminded of how I had not treated someone kindly years a go.

After I took some deep breaths, I was able to pull my car back onto the highway.  My hands were shaking, and I felt like I was going to throw up.  Still in the midst of high anxiety, God granted me peace.

As I continue to be blessed with life, I will seek to know God more and share God with others even on days when I want to hide under the covers.

Leave a Reply

