Sustaining Words

As I prepared to spend six months in China, I spent many a night in tears.  I was fearful about living so far away from my family and my friends.  Psalm 126 spoke hope to me.  Especially Psalm 126:5 which says, “Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy.”  At the end of my experience, with songs of joy, I looked back on my time abroad and thanked God for sustaining me.

Recently, Psalm 121:8 has been God’s sustaining words to me.  That verse says, “The Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.”  During my mission trip to Spain and move to Kernersville, I held tight to this promise.  I still do.

In nine months, I will marry Adam.  We will begin our lives together.  Already I am praying that God will guide us during this upcoming season.  I see scripture thru a new experiential lens as I think about the role of being a wife.  1 Corinthians 13:4-8 says, “Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no records of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices in truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always perseveres.  Love never fails.”

I am thankful to live in a country where I have the freedom to read the Bible in the comfort of my home.  I treasure the freedom I have to gather with others to worship.  And I pray for God’s word to bring sustaining hope to believers around the world who do not have these same freedoms.

Leave a Reply

