What I Once Thought Was Impossible

“For nothing is impossible with God.” Luke 1:37

I, like Emily Dickinson, want to say, “I dwell in possibility.”  A good friend introduced me to this quote several years a go, and I just now have the courage to live out these words.  

Through out my life, I have bypassed many possibilities and imagined how my life would be different if I overcame what seemed impossible.  No longer am I standing only on the edge of possibilities.  

God frees me so I can follow what only God could have placed in my heart.  I have grown to appreciate my challenging journey.  To paraphrase Robert Frost, I took the road less traveled, at least by women, and it has made all the difference.

On Sunday, March 3rd, I will preach the Sunday morning sermon.  My God-given moment to dwell in possibility comes with the great responsibilities of prayer and preparation.

I am obeying God to do what I once thought was impossible for and some still believe to be impossible for women.  Thank you to the many family, friends, mentors, professors, and pastors who have supported me on this journey, who prayed words of encouragement and perseverance over me at my ordination, and who continue to challenge me to claim that nothing is impossible with God.

I am excited and humbled that what I once thought was impossible is now my reality.

Leave a Reply

