Rest

Anne Voskamp’s book One Thousand Gifts was recommended to me by my parents’ pastor.  Although I have not completed this rich text, I have started my own list of thankful moments.  Also, I read Voskamp’s blog.  As her words jump from the screen to my consciousness, I am inspired and renewed.

Recently, Voskamp wrote, “Rest in the rest of Christmas.”  Those words could have been written just for me.  I will travel a lot in the next few days.  For the first holiday ever I am recognizing that I cannot possibly see each family member and close friend in a whirl wind trip home.  Time is precious.  I hope to make the most of my time at home.

I am unplugging from social media for the next few days.  I plan to play Bananagrams, sleep later than usual, and enjoy good novels.

But the most important task of all as I “rest in the rest of Christmas” is to remember the real reason of Christmas is the birth of Christ.  I would not have genuine hope, peace, joy, and love unless the divine came to earth to save us.  

I pause from the business to say, “Merry Christmas to you and your family.  May each of you find ‘rest in the rest of Christmas.'”

“Be still and know that I am God!”  Psalm 46:10

Leave a Reply

