Perspective

Every other Saturday morning I have the awesome privilege of participating in a Bible study for women facilitated by the amazing Katina.  Over the past few weeks we have been using Lysa Terkeurst’s recent book and workbook: Unglued.

Today our study centered around how a healthy perspective can make a difference in how we act and react in difficult circumstances.  When our perspectives are on God we are less likely to say and do things that we will regret later.

As I pause for a few moments today, I am reminded of how often I lose my perspective.  I am blessed with a wonderful apartment and lack for none of life’s essentials while individuals in the Northeast lost everything due to Hurricane Sandy.  I am surrounded by wonderful friends and family while others are alone and lonely.

I am known for sweating the small stuff, majoring on the minors, and stressing out about little things, but what would happen if I took the challenge to strive for a healthy perspective in all things?  Can I stop trying to control everything and rather let God be the one in control?  I long to live free and without the strain of minutia.

So I am humbly commit to focusing on having a healthy perspective between now and Thanksgiving.  God is asking me to stop controlling things and to be still in His awesome presence.

I hesitate to document my commitment in the blog format to be shared with others.  Yet I recognize the strength of others, like Jamee Miller and Deanna Deaton, who have been vulnerable in their blogs and encouraged me and many others.  So I confes I am a control freak in need of God’s transforming power in my life.

I promise to write another blog after Thanksgiving about my journey of letting God have control of each detail of my life.  Between now and then, please pray that I would have a healthy perspective and let God lead.

“Be still and KNOW that I am God!”  Psalm 46:10

Leave a Reply

