Worshiping God in Spain

Christians are not plentiful in Spain.  When you think of countries where people need to hear about Jesus perhaps countries with widespread poverty or persecution come to your mind first.  Yet people in every country in the world, people that speak every language in the world, and people that are similar to me and people that are different from me are in need of a Savior.  The Great Commission commands believers to go and make disciples of all nations.

The worship service in Spain began at 11:30 a.m. which meant that Sunday mornings could be spent with family.  Also, you did not feel rushed to get to church.  Perhaps some American churches could learn something from this concept.  Yet, I gained much deeper and spiritual insights.

I struggle to find the right words to describe how I felt worshiping alongside my Spanish brothers and sisters in Christ in their new building.  The new facility was part a vision that they have prayed about and sought after for years.  They have poured their money and their labor into making their dream of moving to their new location a reality.  They genuinely desire to reach out to the local community and build relationships.  In a country where you cannot throw a rock from one Christian church to the next Christian church being the presence of Christ is crucial and of extreme eternal significance.

People in Spain go to church go because they want to be there.  Many of the folks at the church have known each other for years, and they have a strong sense of community.  They care for one another, and quickly they helped me and the others to feel a part of their community.  I quickly found a sense of belonging and warmth, and I felt at peace basking in the blessings of God.  My cup runneth over from all the positive ways the Christians in Spain took care of me, ministered to me, encouraged to me, prayed with me, listened to me, and challenged me.

If you ever visit Spain, feel free to worship with my friends at Iglesia Cristiana de Garraf.  I know they would welcome you with open arms and air kisses!

Leave a Reply

