The Power of a Story

My story would have been quite different without the experiences and people who have shaped me into the person and the minister that I am today.

Right now I am in the chapter of my life where I am serving on staff at my first church.  I work with internationals in the Raleigh area to help them learn English and adjust to living in America.  Also, often I answer their questions about Christianity.

One of the things I cherish most about my job is hearing the stories of the internationals.  I hear about the upcoming birth of their first child.  I hear about the difficulties of being separated from family.  I hear about the challenges of adjusting to the American lifestyle.

The internationals are eager to listen to my story as well.  They want to hear about how things at school are going.  They want to know how my boyfriend is doing with school and about plans for his upcoming mission trip.  They ask me questions about my family.  They are curious about my American ways, and they help me to gradually become more sensitive to their cultures.

Last weekend one hundred internationals and friends of internationals from Forest Hills Baptist Church attended the annual beach retreat at Caswell.  The sessions for the weekend focused on how God’s story began with creation and continues today.  Over the course of the weekend we shared portions of our stories with one another.

One of the highlights of the weekend was when an African couple was baptized.  These two individuals have a strong faith in God, and I was blessed to hear their testimonies.  I look forward to seeing how God continues to write this African family’s story.

This chapter of my life is full of new experiences like baptizing the African couple last weekend and serving communion on Sunday.  The task before me is to shepherd the flock of internationals that God has entrusted to my care.  Please pray for me and for the internationals.

I pray that God’s strength and wisdom will enable me to keep living out my story.  A story that shows how God redeems brokenness.  A powerful story of hope.  A story that is still being written!

Leave a Reply

